Doctor Faustus


Christopher Marlowe

Teachers and parents! Our Teacher Edition on Doctor Faustus makes teaching easy.

The Seven Deadly Sins Symbol Analysis

The Seven Deadly Sins Symbol Icon
Lucifer entertains Faustus by calling up the Seven Deadly Sins, personifications of Pride, Covetousness, Wrath, Envy, Gluttony, Sloth, and Lechery. These figures rather obviously symbolize the sins for which they are named, but they also serve to reveal Faustus' foolish neglect of sin. He takes pleasure in seeing them parade past him, but does not seem to make the connection between these sins and his own (including his own excessive pride and, with Helen, lechery), which will turn out to be quite deadly for him.
Get the entire Doctor Faustus LitChart as a printable PDF.
Doctor Faustus PDF