The 7 Stages of Grieving

The 7 Stages of Grieving


Wesley Enoch and Deborah Mailman

Teachers and parents! Struggling with distance learning? Our Teacher Edition on The 7 Stages of Grieving can help.

The 7 Stages of Grieving: Scene 2: Sobbing Summary & Analysis

In the darkness, there is the sound of a person crying. As the sobs grow louder, the lights come up to reveal an Aboriginal Woman grieving alone. Words having to deal with grief, sorrow, death, mourning, and hopelessness are projected in swift succession on the projection spaces across the stage. At last, the evocative words are replaced with the word “nothing” and the phrase “I feel…. Nothing”.
The introduction of the play’s main character—the Woman—shows that she is mired in grief. As the Woman vacillates between intense, overwhelming feeling and a clear desire for numbness and relief from her pain, Mailman and Enoch begin to explore the human capacity for so much grieving and feeling. Throughout the play, the Woman will not proceed through the stages of grief—shock, denial, anger, bargaining, depression, testing, and acceptance—in any linear order. Instead, she will vacillate between these stages and others as she grapples with the temptation to sever herself from her feelings altogether and surrender to numbness.
Memory and Family Trauma Theme Icon
Feeling vs. Numbness  Theme Icon
Related Quotes