The Bhagavad Gita



Teachers and parents! Struggling with distance learning? Our Teacher Edition on The Bhagavad Gita can help.

Caste System Term Analysis

The Hindu caste system, or social order, consists of four categories: Brahmin, Kshatriya, Vaishya, and Shudra. The outcaste, or untouchables, exist outside of (and below) the caste system.

Caste System Quotes in The Bhagavad Gita

The The Bhagavad Gita quotes below are all either spoken by Caste System or refer to Caste System. For each quote, you can also see the other terms and themes related to it (each theme is indicated by its own dot and icon, like this one:
Detachment and Dharma Theme Icon
). Note: all page numbers and citation info for the quotes below refer to the Penguin edition of The Bhagavad Gita published in 2008.
Discourse 1 Quotes

The dharma of caste,
and the eternal dharma
of family,
are uprooted
by these wrongful acts
of family-destroyers,
since they create
a blending of caste.

Related Characters: Arjuna (speaker), Krishna
Page Number: 14
Explanation and Analysis:
Get the entire The Bhagavad Gita LitChart as a printable PDF.
The Bhagavad Gita PDF

Caste System Term Timeline in The Bhagavad Gita

The timeline below shows where the term Caste System appears in The Bhagavad Gita. The colored dots and icons indicate which themes are associated with that appearance.
Discourse 1
Detachment and Dharma Theme Icon
...battle, which would destroy his family and its dharma forever, defiling their women, corrupting the caste system, and leading their ancestors to fall into hell. Lamenting the family’s eagerness to kill... (full context)
Discourse 4
Krishna, the Absolute, and Human Knowledge Theme Icon
...his efforts to those who first dedicate themselves to him through sacrifice.  He created the castes, meting out the gunas through his act of creation, although he is nevertheless “the Imperishable... (full context)
Discourse 18
Detachment and Dharma Theme Icon
Reincarnation and the Self Theme Icon
Forms of Worship Theme Icon
No being is free from the three gunas, regardless of caste, which reflects people’s inner nature—brahmins act from an inner purity, discipline, wisdom, and restraint; kshatriyas... (full context)